Paul Were, Wanyama named for Ethiopia clash

first_img0Shares0000Paul Were celebrating in a past match with Harambee Stars.PHOTO/courtesyNAIROBI, Kenya, Sep 21 – Kazakhstan based speedy winger Paul Were returns to the national football team Harambee Stars after he was named in a 21-man final squad released by head coach Sebastian Migne to face Ethiopia in a back-to-back 2019 African Cup of Nations qualifier.The squad is largely comprised of players who took part in Kenya’s succesive 1-0 wins over Ghana (AFCON Qualifier) and Malawi (Friendly) in September. Also called in slipper Captain Victor Wanyama, who missed both matches due to injury while South African based Brian Mandela was once again called up after missing the last match due to suspension.Coach Migné has also named nine players in a standby reserve list in case of injuries to any of the players originally called up.Harambee Stars will first travel to Bahir Dar to face Ethiopia on October 10, before playing host three days later on October 14, 2018, at the Moi International Sports Center Kasarani.Full SquadGoalkeepersPatrick Matasi (Tusker, Kenya), Farouk Shikalo ( Bandari, Kenya)DefendersPhilemon Otieno (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers, Kenya), Musa Mohammed (Nkana FC, Zambia), Brian Mandela (Maritzburg FC, South Africa), Abud Omar (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), David Ochieng (IF Brommapojkarna, Sweden), Erick Ouma (Vasalund, Sweden), Joseph Okumu (Real Monarchs, USA)MidfieldersDennis Odhiambo (Sofapaka, Kenya), Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Ismael Gonzales (Las Palmas, Spain), Victor Wanyama (Tottenham Hotspurs, England), Anthony Akumu (Zesco, Zambia), Johanna Omollo (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Paul Were (FC Kaisar, Kazakhstan)ForwardsPiston Mutamba (Sofapaka, Kenya), Michael Olunga (Kashiwa Reysol, Japan), Eric Johanna (IF Brommapojkarna, Sweden), Ovella Ochieng (Vasalund, Sweden)Reserve PlayersBrian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya), Benard Ochieng (Vihiga United, Kenya) Sosthenes Idah (Thika United, Kenya), Duncan Otieno (AFC Leopards, Kenya), Whyvonne Isuza (AFC Leopards, Kenya), Abdallah Hassan (Bandari, Kenya), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Cliff Nyakeya (Mathare United, Kenya), Allan Wanga (Kakamega Homeboyz, Kenya).0Shares0000(Visited 9 times, 1 visits today)last_img read more

Andhra Pradesh govt announces payment of 27% Interim Relief to employees

first_imgThe Andhra Pradesh government on Saturday announced payment of 27 per cent Interim Relief (IR) to its employees, pending the recommendations of the Pay Revision Commission.Principal Finance Secretary Shamsher Singh Rawat issued an order to this effect, stating that the interim relief would be paid at the rate of 27 per cent of the basic pay with monetary benefit from July 1, 2019.27% Interim Relief to employeesPay scales of state government employees were last revised with effect from July 1, 2013 but the monetary benefits were extended from June 2, 2014, consequent to the state bifurcation.The government constituted the 11th Pay Revision Commission, headed by retired IAS officer Ashutosh Mishra, on May 28, 2018.Though the Commission was supposed to submit its recommendations within a year, its tenure was extended till September 30, 2019.Final recommendations of the Commission pendingService associations representing the employees requested the government to sanction interim relief, pending the final recommendations of the Commission.After taking over as Chief Minister on May 30, Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy accepted the employees request and accordingly the Cabinet, at its first meeting on June 10, approved the IR proposal.The interim relief will impose an extra financial burden of Rs 815 crore on the exchequer and benefit around four lakh state government employees.Who can take benefits of Interim Relief?The IR would be applicable to all government employees, including those working in panchayat raj institutions and urban local bodies, government institutions receiving Grants-in-Aid, work charged employees and full-time contingent employees who were currently drawing pay in the revised scales, 2015, Rawat said in the order.advertisementThe IR would, however, be not applicable to officers of the Andhra Pradesh State Higher Judicial Service, AP State Judicial Service, All India Services and those drawing salaries on UGC, AICTE, ICAR and Government of India scales.Contract staff and staff of societies, autonomous institutions and Public Sector Undertakings would also not get the 27 per cent hike, Rawat added.Read: Education Budget 2019: National Sports Education Board to be set up under Khelo IndiaRead: Here’s how sports and education work well togetherlast_img read more