Year in Review: The 42nd Federal Election

first_imgWith the results in, Zimmer won the election on Oct. 19 with 27,237 votes. Liberal candidate Matt Shaw was the runner up in the race, and told Energetic City in October that campaigning was more exhausting than he anticipated, but to ‘never say never’ about running for the title again.Zimmer faced some backlash in October after answering questions from the moderator about missing and murder indigenous women at the Lido Theatre’s Peace Debates. Local activist Connie Greyeyes told CBC Daybreak she found the comments ‘disheartening,’ having lost friends and family members in the past.Elizabeth Biggar made a statement in September when she attempted to walk from Fort St. John to Dawson Creek to spread her campaign message. FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. — This year, Canada saw the landslide victory of the Liberal Party end a nearly decade-long Conservative government. Justin Trudeau quickly went from party leader to country leader and brought 184 liberal seats with him to parliament. He and his cabinet ministers were sworn in on Nov. 4, 2015.Credit: Elections CanadaCredit: Elections CanadaThe writ for election was dropped on Aug. 4, started the longest federal election campaign since the 19th century. The 78-day campaign trail also had some rather interesting scandals breaking during that time, and some even more interesting campaign promises.- Advertisement -The Conservative party, with 99 seats, became the official opposition. Former Prime Minister Stephen Harper stepped down as party leader, which Sturgeon River-Parkland MP Rona Ambrose has taken over for the time being.Once the official opposition, the NDP fell from 95 seats to just 44.  The Green Party of Canada lost a seat and maintains one sole seat in parliament, but in a surprising turn, the Bloc Quebecois gained eight seats, and now has 10 in total.Here in the Prince George-Peace River-Northern Rockies, riding, we saw debates, public appearances, and campaigns from six different candidates. incumbent, and re-elected Conservative MP Bob Zimmer, Liberal Matt Shaw, Green Elizabeth Biggar, New Democrat Kathi Dickie, Libertarian W. Todd Keller, and Progressive Barry Blackman.Advertisementlast_img read more

Paul Were, Wanyama named for Ethiopia clash

first_img0Shares0000Paul Were celebrating in a past match with Harambee Stars.PHOTO/courtesyNAIROBI, Kenya, Sep 21 – Kazakhstan based speedy winger Paul Were returns to the national football team Harambee Stars after he was named in a 21-man final squad released by head coach Sebastian Migne to face Ethiopia in a back-to-back 2019 African Cup of Nations qualifier.The squad is largely comprised of players who took part in Kenya’s succesive 1-0 wins over Ghana (AFCON Qualifier) and Malawi (Friendly) in September. Also called in slipper Captain Victor Wanyama, who missed both matches due to injury while South African based Brian Mandela was once again called up after missing the last match due to suspension.Coach Migné has also named nine players in a standby reserve list in case of injuries to any of the players originally called up.Harambee Stars will first travel to Bahir Dar to face Ethiopia on October 10, before playing host three days later on October 14, 2018, at the Moi International Sports Center Kasarani.Full SquadGoalkeepersPatrick Matasi (Tusker, Kenya), Farouk Shikalo ( Bandari, Kenya)DefendersPhilemon Otieno (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers, Kenya), Musa Mohammed (Nkana FC, Zambia), Brian Mandela (Maritzburg FC, South Africa), Abud Omar (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), David Ochieng (IF Brommapojkarna, Sweden), Erick Ouma (Vasalund, Sweden), Joseph Okumu (Real Monarchs, USA)MidfieldersDennis Odhiambo (Sofapaka, Kenya), Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Ismael Gonzales (Las Palmas, Spain), Victor Wanyama (Tottenham Hotspurs, England), Anthony Akumu (Zesco, Zambia), Johanna Omollo (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Paul Were (FC Kaisar, Kazakhstan)ForwardsPiston Mutamba (Sofapaka, Kenya), Michael Olunga (Kashiwa Reysol, Japan), Eric Johanna (IF Brommapojkarna, Sweden), Ovella Ochieng (Vasalund, Sweden)Reserve PlayersBrian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya), Benard Ochieng (Vihiga United, Kenya) Sosthenes Idah (Thika United, Kenya), Duncan Otieno (AFC Leopards, Kenya), Whyvonne Isuza (AFC Leopards, Kenya), Abdallah Hassan (Bandari, Kenya), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Cliff Nyakeya (Mathare United, Kenya), Allan Wanga (Kakamega Homeboyz, Kenya).0Shares0000(Visited 9 times, 1 visits today)last_img read more