first_imgPuducherry, Sept 10 (PTI) The process for the September 28 biennial election to the lone seat for Rajya Sabha from Puducherry was set in motion today with the publication of statutory notification. Puducherry assembly Secretary S Mohandoss, who is designated as Returning Officer for the poll, told PTI that the notification was issued by Election Commission of India. The last date for filing nominations is September 18 while the scrutiny would take place the next day. The last date for withdrawal of candidatures is September 21 and the poll will be held between 9 a.m and 4 p.m. on September 28 and counting of votes would be held at 5 p.m that day, according to a schedule released. The election was necessitated following the expiry of the term of office of the present incumbent P Kannan (Congress) on October 6. Congress had held the seat on five occasions since 1963 while the DMK on two times and AIADMK on one occasion. The AINRC which is holding the reins of power now has 15 elected members (including Speaker) on its own in the 30 member Assembly and the lone Independent member V M C Sivakumar from Karaikal is supporting the government from outside. Opposition Congress has seven members while AIADMK five and DMK two. PTI Cor RClast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *